The Shanghai Art Historian

When I started blogging, I swore I wouldn’t be one of the many writers who only stay for the honeymoon period. Then look at me, going off the radar for a month and a half! It’s not that I think my blog is so important that there are hundreds of loyal readers wringing their hands over my absence. No, it’s just a matter of dedication and providing what little nuggets of wisdom, beauty, or interest that I can to the internet. All this is to say I’m back. And for the next three months, The Starving Art Historian will have a bit of a different direction. You see, I’ve moved to Shanghai.

Anyone who knows me is a bit confused by my new expat status. Since when do you speak Chinese? Since when are you into China at all? The answer to both questions is “not long enough.” Through some good connections and luck, my boyfriend and I made a surprisingly smooth transition to living and working in Shanghai. We have a very IKEA apartment in the French Concession, and I’m lurking as an intern at an international design firm (which is also in the Luwan, and actually French for that matter). I’m over the moon about this opportunity to live and learn in one of the fastest growing cities in the world.

Of course, this is very different than what my blog has traditionally been. I’ll never get tired of hammering out academic musings on Western painting, but I think my life in China will provide a much needed shot in the arm to me and, I sincerely hope, anyone who comes here (or stumbles in) to learn something new. China’s importance as a global economic power is never in question, but too many westerners neglect its cultural impact. This is a huge country with a rich artistic tradition! Not only is the Eastern Tradition overlooked by many art lovers and art historians alike, but there is a failure to appreciate modern Chinese art and culture. So let’s hold hands and leap into it. I’m as new at this as you may be.

I’m still settling in, but I can’t wait to explore the Shanghainese art scene as well as soak up knowledge of China’s millennia old history of painting, ceramics, sculpture, and more. I also plan to write about lifestyle in general. And sometimes the food. I mean, c’mon, xiaolongbao!

This entry was posted in Asian Art, Hi, Bye, Me, Personal, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Shanghai Art Historian

  1. SJ says:

    Hi!
    I’ve really missed you! I hope that everything will be absolutely fine, and you and your boyfriend will be having lots and lots of fun!!!!
    Even when it’s a big change, I’m sure you’ll learn a lot, and really enjoy it!
    Best Wishes!

  2. A Graciano says:

    Ni-hao! I hope you have a wonderful time in the PRoC. Send me a postcard if you can. See you in August.

Leave a Reply

