Art and the Internet are Both Forever

Well hi guys!  Yes, it’s another arts blog.  So why should you stay?  First of all, you shouldn’t worry about me.  I’m not literally starving.  I am a college student, though, so don’t be surprised if I have to resort to lots and lots of Ramen.

As an art history student (a sophomore, to be exact), I see museum work and art itself in a different way.  Historical context, thematic relationships, and the thought that goes behind the making of art and artists are all at the forefront of my mind.  It all ends up seeping into everyday life, so I’ll be writing about how classic themes in art history filter into pop culture, advertising, and society in general.  I also may geek out and go on rants about the religious impact of Baroque painting.

Museum Studies are very important to me as well.  In the 21st century it’s vital to always assess the role that museums play in our culture and how the institutions can stay fresh and innovative.  I work at a small museum, the Columbia Museum of Art, so my posts will often focus on how local museums serve both their community and the art world at large.

Stick around and I promise to do my best to teach you new things and charm your pants off in the process.

This entry was posted in Hi, Bye, Servicey. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Art and the Internet are Both Forever

  1. Judy Davis says:

    I love this blog and your take on various exhibits, including the colors in your apartment. I was especially moved by your description of Van Gogh’s Starry Night. He is my favorite for similar reasons. I saw an exhibit of his at the Toledo Museum of Art in 1988. I was 29 at the time. But it was so profound it was as if I hadn’t seen art before that moment. I was moved by the harsh brush strokes and the intensity of color but mostly by the emotion in each scene. I too have suffered from mental illness and found that it was a relief and comfort to see those paintings. Please keep writing. Judy

Leave a Reply

